Sultan Qaboos Environment Award

Sultan Qaboos Environment Award is the first Arabian award in the field of environment. It was established in 1989 and is to be given every two years to any individual, group of individuals, institute or organization that contributes in preserving and managing the environment at any part of the world.

It affords recognition to the creative and fruitful efforts made by the nominees and encourages others to contribute in preserving environment.

The prize is granted to the winners through the Co-coordinating Council of UNESCO’s “Man and the Biosphere Programme”, and nominations for the prize are made only by UNESCO member status, international organizations, NGOs which have consultative relations with the UNESCO.

Here is the list of the prize winners:


YearName of the winnercountry
2015Nominations are still open till 15\6\2015 
2013The State Forests National Forest Holding of Poland and South Africa’s Endangered Wildlife TrustPoland and South Africa
2011Forestry Research Institute of NigeriaNigeria
2009Autonomous Authority for National Parks (OAPN)Spain
2007Autonomous Authority for National Parks (OAPN)Spain
2005The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (Australia) and to Dr. Ernesto C. Enkerlin-Hoeflich (Mexico)Australia and Mexico
2003Centro de Ecología, Venezuela and Mr. Peter Johan Schei, NorwayNorway and Venezuela
2001Association Tchadienne des Volontaires pour la Protection de l'EnvironnementChad
1999Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos IslandsGalapagos (Ecuador)
1997Department of Environmental Sciences of Egypt and Forest Department of Sri LankaSri Lanka and Egypt
1995Lake Malawi National ParkMalawi
1993Professor Jan Jeník, The Czeck RepublicCzeck Republic
1991The Instituto de Ecología A.C. of MexicoMexico