Not seeing a Scroll to Top Button? Go to our FAQ page for more info.
Skip to navigation Skip to main content

Ministry of Health - eHealth Portal
Free & Open Source Software Conference (3rd Edition)
Activate your ID card now at the nearest Civil Status Directorate

Main Navigation

Accessibility Icons

Increase font size

User Control

Language selection


Sultan Qaboos Environment Award: is the first Arabian award in the field of environment. It was established in 1989 and is to be given every two years to any individual, group of individuals, institute or organization that contributes in preserving and managing the environment at any part of the world.

It affords recognition to the creative and fruitful efforts made by the nominees and encourages others to contribute in preserving environment.

The prize is granted to the winners through the Co-coordinating Council of UNESCO’s “Man and the Biosphere Programme”, and nominations for the prize are made only by UNESCO member status, international organizations, NGOs which have consultative relations with the UNESCO.

Here is the list of the prize winners:


Year Name of the winner country
2015 Nominations are still open till 15\6\2015  
2013 The State Forests National Forest Holding of Poland and South Africa’s Endangered Wildlife Trust Poland and South Africa
2011 Forestry Research Institute of Nigeria Nigeria
2009 Autonomous Authority for National Parks (OAPN) Spain
2007 Autonomous Authority for National Parks (OAPN) Spain
2005 The Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority (Australia) and to Dr. Ernesto C. Enkerlin-Hoeflich (Mexico) Australia and Mexico
2003 Centro de Ecología, Venezuela and Mr. Peter Johan Schei, Norway Norway and Venezuela
2001 Association Tchadienne des Volontaires pour la Protection de l'Environnement Chad
1999 Charles Darwin Foundation for the Galapagos Islands Galapagos (Ecuador)
1997 Department of Environmental Sciences of Egypt and Forest Department of Sri Lanka Sri Lanka and Egypt
1995 Lake Malawi National Park Malawi
1993 Professor Jan Jeník, The Czeck Republic Czeck Republic
1991 The Instituto de Ecología A.C. of Mexico Mexico



Bottom Navigation